My First Sweaters!

A few months ago I knitted my first sweaters.  I wasn’t too sure I would be successful, but I think I did a pretty good job!

IMG_3251Both of the patterns came from Tin Can Knits, and personally I think they are the BEST.  As a beginning knitter, I found their patterns  very clear and great to learn from.  They have a series of FREE patterns called The Simple Collection, and have great links which teach the basics.  I have not made the blanket or scarf, because I have made several flat pieces, but the sock pattern was INVALUABLE in learning how to knit a sock.  (I’ll have another post shortly on the sock adventure)

The pullover is a basic top-down sweater, and the links in the pattern clearly explain EVERYTHING.  It’s a plain sweater, so you can focus on the construction, but the garter stitch along the sleeve keeps the sweater cute.  I’m still playing with the idea of adding an applique to the front. I made this sweater following the directions for size 12 month, and I think I hit it right on. 🙂

There is also a pattern for a cardigan.  The pattern gives directions for a button hole and not. Since I made it size 3, IIMG_3249 added a cute button, instead of using a pin to fasten.  I thought the pin on a toddler would be a bad idea. 🙂

I have some other patterns I purchased from Tin Can Knits, and now feel comfortable in trying a full size pattern with some cool detail.  First I need to finish off some more WIPS.

2 thoughts on “My First Sweaters!

  1. What a cute little sweater! I have seen the adult size but never the little one before. It looks like it will allow for a lot of movement… Time to bookmark the link. Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

